My first book!

I’m not going to do a big long post about what’s been going on in my world since like 2 years ago.  Quick update: got married, moved to Missouri, working at a great place with great people and LOVE my students.  Research is going well and I’m in training for an Ironman triathlon (about which more later).

Phew!  Okay.  Another big update–my book is finally out!

Image

After 7 years of fairly concentrated work, you can find it here.  It is finished and the results have been–anticlimactic.  I’ve never published a book before, so in my head and heart I’m eagerly anticipating the reviews (all glowing, of course), and the royalties to come rolling in.  I’ve seen some mentions about the book on Twitter and Facebook, and from the Chancellor of my university.  Those are all great!  My colleagues, friends, and family–all unspeakably important support groups–are so proud of my accomplishment.  But nothing yet from the academic side.

Oh wait, there was one person who commented on the university press release, privately, to tell me I left out Murray’s work in witchcraft.  I didn’t.  They just haven’t read the book.

Don’t get me wrong!  I’m not complaining at all.  This, from what a colleague told me yesterday, is totally natural.  It will be months, if not over a year, until I hear much from the academy about my life’s (to this point) work.  Honestly, if the book is useful to people I will be happy.

Right now, I’m debating on making my students read chunks of it–I probably won’t.  I’m also debating on taking my dog for a short walk this morning since I skipped my hour-long swim in favor of TV and coffee–I will do that right now.

This entry was posted in Biography, Margaret Murray. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first book!

  1. Julie says:

    Um. . ..You left out the part where Margaret Murray had a brief career as a rodeo clown.

Leave a Reply

