Blame it on the rain…?

So, it’s been a while since my last post.  There are a number of reasons I haven’t posted on this blog, but there are two factors that did NOT play into this lack of communication: 1) inactivity and 2) rain.

Since I last posted, my sister got married, which I went home to the US to attend.  I was in Germany for Christmas, Boston for an interview, and London for a research trip.  I also got 3rd place in the female division of the Egyptian half-marathon at the end of January.  I got stuck overnight in the Cairo airport because of the Revolution; 3 days later I got stuck for 6 hours in the same airport for the same reason–no, I don’t learn.  I GOT the job I interviewed for and then I wasn’t sure I’d make it back to Cairo for the start of term…but I’m getting ahead of myself!!

The wonderful wedding of my sister and her new husband!  SO fun and so worth the trip home.  Being the maid-of-honor for your sister and your best friend on the same day is something few get to experience.  I loved every second of it.

One of my fave pics from the day.

We had SO much fun!! I got back to Cairo and immediately turned around to go to Alexandria for Thanksgiving with an AUC faculty trip.  So…I’ve been to Alex.  No real need to go there again.  Saw all I needed to see in three days.  The Med was pretty, but get off the Corniche too far and it isn’t pretty.

Mediterranean at Sunset, Alexandria, Egypt

How can you NOT love these views?  I’ve been out of the country for Thanksgiving twice in my life–once in London and once in Egypt.  In London, I had McDonald’s for dinner after a day of classes.  It was strange to have to go to school on Thanksgiving.  In Egypt, we went to a fish restaurant for dinner.  (See below)  Trust me, McDonald’s was MUCH better.

Thanksgiving dinner. He smiled at me.

 

 

I’m going to do better about posting (thanks for reminding me, Mandi!), so my next post this week will be about Christmas in Deutschland. Bottom line: damn good food, beer, and friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blame it on the rain…?

  1. amanda says:

    Well, you can ALWAYS count on me to be a willing audience! Forever in your life, there will be someone who is willing AND interested in hearing what’s going on in your life.

    I love and miss you friend!

  2. Julie says:

    I liked your “since I last posted” paragraph! *Whew* Lady! What an adventure you’re on!

Leave a Reply

