It’s been a while…

It has been a while since I’ve posted anything, but that’s only because I’ve been out having adventures in Egypt.

School has been good–definitely keeping me busy and on my toes.  Every day is a learning experience for me.  Whether I’m learning about living in Egypt or about how to teach my Egyptian students, each day brings something new.  I enjoy new things a lot, but sometimes it’s nice just to feel comfortable and in your zone.  That also happens every day in a lot of situations.  I am in my zone when I get to run on a regular basis.  That has most definitely been a part of each day.  I’m training for the Egypt half-marathon at the end of January.  It’s just a 13 miler through the Valley of the Kings and the Valley of the Queens in Luxor, Egypt. No big deal.  YES!  It’s a huge deal!  My friends Mary and Jeff are going to come run as well.  We all hope to be at full health at the end of a nice long Christmas break.  It’s sure to be a blast, no matter what.  I also get to be in my zone when I get to come home to my apartment, change into comfy clothes right away and get on Skype to my family and friends back home.  I don’t know what I’d do without Skype!

Some fun times I’ve had since I last posted, but which will likely get posts of their own soon:

  1. We went dune buggying in the Fayoum desert
  2. We went on a tour of Coptic Cairo and saw gorgeous old churches
  3. We went on a felucca ride on the Nile
  4. I went home for my sister’s wedding!
  5. We went to Alexandria, Egypt for Thanksgiving

It’s important to remember that anything you try to do in Egypt, whether it’s go to the bathroom or go on a planned tour, it will get complicated.  It isn’t that it ever must be complicated, it will simply get that way.  Early on in my time here, this was much to my dismay.  Now, I am much more laid back about it–at least that is how I choose to see myself.

Three more weeks left in the semester!  We can do this!  More post in a couple of days to recount the fun had in the last 6 weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

