Getting ready!

Where can I go from your Spirit? / Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there; / If I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn, / If I settle on the far side of the sea,

Even there your hand will guide me, / your right hand will hold me fast.

Psalm 139: 7-10

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Ephesians 3: 20-21

I know my posts are usually light-hearted, and this one is too, I assure you!  I just had to share my adventures today.  I was struck by these verses when my friend Nancy sent the first to me as the encouraging Word of the day yesterday, as well as by God’s action in my life all the time, and the second one most recently and recognizably today.

I have been praying for a few things having to do with my impending trip, and I’ve commissioned my wonderful prayer warriors with the same.  Today, two of those prayers were answered as a resounding “YES!  I’m taking care of you!”  First, I’ve been praying for friends in Cairo.  I’ve had some contact with a few women in Cairo who seem very nice and I look forward to meeting them, but today a woman my age and who is American contacted me!  Her husband is on faculty at AUC and they live in my neighborhood so she wanted to welcome me.  This is one of the first people who I’ve felt I’ll actually be able to connect to!  We seem to have a lot in common (duh, I looked on facebook!) and did I mention she’s my age?  And American?  Not that other nationalities are out of the question as friends–quite the contrary–but it will be nice to know people from home, you know?  Even though I settle on the far side of the sea, his hand is guiding me, even before I get there.  Thankfully, he’s everywhere at all times.

Second, I have been praying about and worried about sending my freight–see posts below.  They’re supposed to pick it up tomorrow, sometime between 9 and 5, and the shipping company had been less than communicative.  I had to call twice to make sure they got my lists and they knew which day we’d scheduled for them to pick stuff up.  Today, as I was hanging out with Will and Olivia, I had the thought that “Oh, I STILL haven’t heard from them and they’re supposed to be here tomorrow!!”  Then, I did my favorite, and seemingly most effective, praying.  Anxiously, I had the thought “Lord, please let them contact me soon,” and then resolved to check my email ASAP.  Right that second, the phone rang–it was the freight company calling to confirm and schedule the appointment.  Totally one of those God moments where he makes it so clear it’s him working.  I love when that happens.  I also love when what I need to happen happens in perfect time!  I’ve asked for something, and he answers with more than I could have imagined to ask for.

I had to share this with all of you–God is amazing and I know now, more than ever, he’s blessing this move.  It will be hard, surely.  It will be lonely at times.  It will be amazing, most definitely!  But finally, God always strengthens me with what has become my favorite verse ever, one that I feel applies to me at all times, Joshua 1:9: Do not be terrified and do not be discouraged, the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

For good measure, and those who look for pictures here. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting ready!

  1. Kelly says:

    We’re praying for you, Kate, and looking forward to hearing about all your adventures!

Leave a Reply

