Let’s get physical…

So, in order to go to Egypt I have to have a really complicated physical.  I still have student insurance (hooray!), so I have to go through the health center here at OU–the dreaded Goddard Health Center (boo!).

I have not one, not two, but SIX appointments to get all the blood work, poking, prodding, and measuring done.  Luckily, they are all very quick and fairly efficient over there in the summers.  Also luckily, they do physicals all the time–but apparently this one is special.  Among the comments from the nurses today were: “I’ve never seen a form like this one!  (chuckle chuckle);” “they want to know WHAT?;” “How do I measure that?;” “I don’t know how the doctor is even going to DO that test…” and on and on.  Fun times!  Since it’s summer, and the nurses are bored, I had like 4 of them doing random things.

Good results, though.  My vision got a “WOW!”  ha ha!  It’s apparently gotten better with time–I’ve now got 20/18 vision in both eyes.  Hilarious.  Also, the doctor said my reflexes were “the best I’ve ever seen.  I should get some med students in here and show them.”  There were some strange results–this may be TMI–like my pee being “really yellow.”  That got an alarmed “Oh!” until I told them I had just drank coffee and it was only my second bathroom trip of the day.  (ah ha!)

They had to gauge my physical health as well as my “nervous excitability.”  The nurses laughed at that too…hopefully not because they marked “poor.”

In the end, I left with two holes in my arms (TB test, blood work) and 3 more appointments on Thursday.  One of them is just so they can rub my arm for the TB.  I’m pretty sure I don’t have it.  I’m also pretty sure I don’t have: polio, HIV, syphillis, herpes.

This better all be worth it!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s get physical…

  1. christine says:

    Ummmmm, where’s the pictures? Kate I want to see a picture of the yellow pee.

Leave a Reply

