I’m moving to Cairo!

Hi everyone!  I’m starting a blog about life, starting now.  Mainly, it is to keep everyone updated about my move to Cairo and my new job as a post-doctoral teaching fellow at the American University in Cairo! It’s also going to serve as a kind of travel journal for myself as well, so I hope you all enjoy!

Why I’m moving!

I’ve been offered a three-year appointment at the American University in Cairo to teach in their department of Core Curriculum.  I’ll be teaching 3 courses per semester (yikes!!) of freshman-level classes.  2 will be in Scientific Thinking–a kind of critical thinking through the history of science course–and one class in whatever I would like.  They’ve suggested women in science or an Egyptology course, although teaching Egyptology in Egypt is a lot of pressure!!

I leave the US on August 19th, to get to Cairo by August 20th.  I will get settled in a new apartment, find my office on campus, meet people and get oriented for about a week.  Then, I get to come home for my brother’s wedding!!  I can’t wait.  It’s going to be so fun.  After that, I’ll be in Cairo from Sept. 4th through next May.  AUC pays for one trip home per year, and I plan on making it a summer-long trip, as many faculty tend to do.

Danny is not coming with me permanently, but we’ve got plans in the works to discuss his possibly moving there later.  Killer is also staying here.  😦  I’ll miss them both terribly, but this is the best situation for now.

This is where you come in…

I want to post on here a lot, to keep you all updated!  But, I also want to hear from you too, so don’t forget me, and don’t forget to comment on here or please email me to let me know how you are!

I suppose this is all I have for now, so stay tuned.  I’ll be posting even before I leave when I have any info or just get the urge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m moving to Cairo!

  1. Julie says:

    Woo Hoo!!! Let it be noted that I’m the first to comment on this blog, which I’m sure will become world-renowned in no time at all. I’m glad you are doing this Kate, and I can’t wait to read about all your adventures!

  2. darwinsbulldog says:

    Nice to come across your blog, Kate!

Leave a Reply

